Sydney Thunder v Adelaide Strikers

  • Last Updated: December 20 2012, 19:53 GMT

Sydney Thunder remain winless in the Big Bash League following a 51-run defeat to the Adelaide Strikers.

  • Nathan Reardon: Belted 42 from 20 balls for the Strikers
  • Scott Coyte: Added respectability to Sydney's response 

The Strikers, who have now won two of their opening three fixtures, posted a testing 177-6 total to start the contest, the third highest score of this year's competition.

The Thunder were always up against it and the loss of early wickets saw the required run-rate climb before they were eventually bundled out for 126.

After being asked to bat first, Adelaide openers Michael Klinger and Tim Ludeman put on 81 before Ludeman (46) was stumped by Ryan Carters from the bowling of Adam Zampa.

Nathan Reardon (42) entertained from his 20 deliveries before being spectacularly caught out in the deep when Cameron Borgas threw the ball while crossing the boundary rope in the air allowing Scott Coyte to make the catch.


Klinger top-scored with 60 from 46 deliveries, but he was next to go, although that brought West Indies slugger Kieron Pollard to the crease.

Pollard clubbed 16 runs from seven balls, Theo Doropoulos went for a duck, Johan Botha was unbeaten on seven while Callum Ferguson fell off his first delivery.

Dirk Nannes was the pick of the bowlers for Sydney with figures of 4-17.

The Thunder were slow out of the blocks in their run-chase with opener Mark Gosgrove scoring at just over a run-a-ball before he fell on eight.

West Indies captain Chris Gayle hung around a little longer, but when he was dismissed by compatriot Pollard for just eight, Adelaide assumed total control.

Chris Rogers helped steady the ship with 23 from 21, although had it not been for the battle of Coyte, who mustered 33 from 15 the scoreline would have been more one-sided.

Kane Richardson (3-9) and Shaun Tait (3-22) were the pick of the Strikers' bowlers.