England bid to regain Ashes

  • Last Updated: November 27 2012, 20:55 GMT

England's women will bid to reclaim the Ashes next August when they face Australia in a one-off Test match.

Clare Connor: Relishing the challenge

Australia regained the women's Ashes in Sydney last year and the same prize will be on the line in the clash at Wormsley Cricket Ground in Buckinghamshire from August 13-16.

That will be followed by three one-day internationals, the first of them at Lord's, and three Twenty20 internationals.

The ODI series begins at HQ on August 20 before two games at Hove on August 23 and 25. Chelmsford hosts the first T20 international on August 27, with the other two contested as double-headers with the men's internationals at the Ageas Bowl on August 29 and Chester-le-Street two days later.

Clare Connor, the England and Wales Cricket Board's head of England women's cricket, said: "We are delighted to be hosting the Australia women's team during the much-anticipated Ashes summer.

"From recent bi-lateral series and the encounter between the two teams at the ICC World Twenty20 final in Colombo, England and Australia are leading the way in the women's game with consistently high quality performances. A summer comprising all three formats of the game will be certain to provide an entertaining and hard fought few weeks of international women's cricket."

England Women v Australia schedule 2013:

13-16 August - Test Match - Wormsley Cricket Ground, Buckinghamshire

NatWest Women's' Series

20 August - 1st ODI - Lord's

23 August - 2nd ODI - The PROBIZ Ground, Hove

25 August - 3rd ODI - The PROBIZ Ground, Hove

NatWest Women's' International T20 Series

27 August - 1st T20I - The Ford County Ground, Chelmsford

29 August - 2nd T20I - Ageas Bowl, Southampton

31 August - 3rd T20I - Emirates Durham ICG

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet & £5 free every week