PCA honour Compton

  • Last Updated: September 21 2012, 6:15 BST

Somerset batsman Nick Compton has been named the NatWest PCA Player of the Year for 2012 after a hugely successful season which ended in an England call-up.

Nick Compton: Leading run scorer in the country

And Yorkshire batsman Joe Root, who will join Compton on England's Test tour of India this winter, has been named the NatWest PCA Young Player of the Year.

The PCA awards were held at Battersea Evolution and Compton was honoured in front of former and current players, officials and guests, after a season in which he scored 1,494 first-class runs and almost averaged 100.

And promising opener Root helped Yorkshire to promotion in the LV= County Championship, a superb 222 not out against Hampshire the highlight as he racked up more than 1,400 runs in all domestic cricket.

Senior Manager for NatWest Sponsorship & Hospitality Chris Long said: "On behalf of NatWest I would like to congratulate all of tonight's winners.

"The NatWest PCA Awards play a key role in raising almost half of the money generated for the PCA Benevolent Fund, which helps support current and former players and their families, while our NatWest Cricket Club continues to reward our customers, fans and local clubs."

Full awards list

Reg Hayter Cup for the NatWest PCA Player of the Year: Nick Compton (Somerset)

John Arlott Cup for the NatWest PCA Young Player of the Year: Joe Root (Yorkshire)

ECB Special Award: Bill Gordon

England FTI MVP of the Summer: Ian Bell

Friends Life t20 Player of the Year: Dimitri Mascarenhas (Hampshire)

Clydesdale Bank 40 Player of the Year: Phil Mustard (Durham)

NatWest ODI Player of the Summer: Alastair Cook

Investec Test Player of the Summer: Stuart Broad

Sky Sports Sixes League Winner: Gary Ballance (Yorkshire)

FTI Team of the Year: Varun Chopra (Warwickshire), Chris Nash (Sussex), Ian Bell (Warwickshire & England), Steven Croft (Lancashire), Darren Stevens (Kent), Peter Trego (Somerset), Phil Mustard (Durham), Jeetan Patel (Warwickshire), Keith Barker (Warwickshire), Chris Wright (Warwickshire), Graham Onions (Durham)