• Cricket/
  • Sri Lanka V South Africa

Sri Lanka vs South Africa

Match info: Sri Lanka v South Africa ODI Series 2014 at R. Premadasa Stadium - 1st ODI

Date: 6th Jul 2014 Umpires: S J Davis and R Martinesz

50-over match

Home team and score Away team score

Sri Lanka

229 All out (40.3 Overs)


South Africa

304/5 (50.0 Overs)

South Africa win by 75 runs

  • Last Updated: July 6 2014, 13:53 BST

South Africa drew first blood in the three-match one-day international series against Sri Lanka with a 75-run victory in Colombo on Sunday.

Amla: Led South Africa to win
Amla: Led South Africa to win

Hashim Amla led the way for the Proteas with 109, while captain AB de Villiers contributed 75 from 70 balls as the tourists posted a healthy 304 for five after opting to bat first. Spinner Ajantha Mendis was the most successful Sri Lanka bowler, accounting for three of South Africa's top four in figures of three for 61.

Kumar Sangakkara largely carried Sri Lankan hopes of pulling off the testing run-chase but, after he was dismissed for 88 in the 38th over, the writing was on the wall, and it was all over three overs later as the hosts were skittled for 229.

Man of the match Amla and Quinton de Kock gave the South Africans a solid start at R Premadasa Stadium with an opening stand of 58 before the latter was bowled by Sri Lanka skipper Angelo Mathews.

Jacques Kallis, batting at number three having passed a late fitness test on a lower back injury, soon joined De Kock back in the pavilion, falling lbw to the second ball he faced from Mendis.

But that brought De Villiers out to join Amla in the middle, and the pair enjoyed a 151-run third-wicket partnership which set the Proteas decisively on their way.

Sri Lanka did have their chances, though, and were made to pay for missed chances in the field - Mathews dropped De Villiers at mid-off and Kusal Perera was unable to snap up Amla at long-on. Amla also survived a review after Sangakkara claimed caught behind off an attempted hook in the 21st over.

The third-wicket stand was eventually ended by Mendis, De Villiers - having hit five fours and a six - chipping a good-length ball from Mendis into the hands of Nuwan Kulasekara at long-off.

Amla stuck around for another six overs before becoming Mendis' third victim - trapped lbw attempting a sweep.

His departure, having plundered eight fours and a six en route to his 13th one-day hundred, left the Proteas on 239 for four at the end of the 42nd over, and a fruitful final pairing ensured there was no let-up for the Sri Lanka attack.

Tillakaratne Dilshan took a fine low catch at short cover to dismiss JP Duminy for 16 off the bowling of Sachithra Senanayake, and then David Miller (36 from 21 balls) and Ryan McLaren (22 from 18) put on a 55-run unbroken final stand - including 43 runs from the last three overs.

Perera and Dilshan set about the task of pursuing 305 by racing through a 50-run opening partnership.

But Perera was then first to go, top-edging a slower ball from Vernon Philander to Morne Morkel at short fine leg for 34, while Dilshan contributed 40 before getting a thick edge off Morkel and being caught behind by De Kock.

In-form Sangakkara got off the mark by despatching Morkel to the long-off boundary and looked assured throughout his magnificent knock, which came off just 84 deliveries and included nine boundaries.

But his partners were not in the mood for sticking around.

Mahela Jayawardene managed just 10 before edging Imran Tahir behind, where he was brilliantly pouched by De Kock, while Ashan Priyanjan (five) found Kallis at short third man soon after. Mathews (13), caught behind off Morkel, and Lahiru Thirimanne (15), bowled by McLaren, did not fare much better.

While Sangakkara was in place the Sri Lankans had hope but, when he holed out to substitute fielder Faf du Plessis at extra cover off the bowling of McLaren, the end was nigh as 217 for seven swiftly descended to 229 all out.

Kulasekara was bowled by Dale Steyn for one, Senanayake was duped by a Tahir googly for six and then Dale Steyn had Mendis snapped up by McLaren for nought to wrap things up with more than nine overs to spare.