• Cricket/
  • Delhi Daredevils V Royal Challengers Bangalore

Delhi Daredevils vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Match info: Indian Premier League at Sharjah CA Stadium, UAE - League

Date: 17th Apr 2014 Umpires: A S Dar and S Ravi

20-over match

Home team and score Away team score

Delhi Daredevils

145/4 (20.0 Overs)


Royal Challengers Bangalore

146/2 (16.4 Overs)

Royal Challengers Bangalore win by 8 wickets

  • Last Updated: April 17 2014, 19:49 BST

Kevin Pietersen could only watch on from the dugout as his Delhi Daredevils suffered an eight-wicket loss at the hands of the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Virat Kohli: Took the Royal Challengers to victory
Virat Kohli: Took the Royal Challengers to victory

With skipper Pietersen sidelined with a finger injury, Delhi made a disappointing start to the seventh season of the Indian Premier League as their total of 145 for four proved easy for Bangalore to surpass.

Royal Challengers captain Virat Kohli led from the front in the run chase with 49 not out from 37 deliveries, while fellow India team-mate Yuvraj Singh blasted an unbeaten half-century.

They did lose Nic Maddinson (four) early at the start of their reply, but Parthiv Patel (37) and Kohli - who was dropped twice in one Wayne Parnell over - combined to put on a stand of 56.

Although Patel perished when advancing down the pitch to leg-spinner Rahul Sharma, Yuvraj came out to blast Bangalore to their target in a hurry. The left-hander struck five sixes and three fours on his way to 52 not out from 29 deliveries.

Kohli cleared the boundary three times himself to help his team ease home with 20 balls to spare thanks to an unbroken third-wicket alliance worth 84.

Defeat was a disappointing beginning to the 2014 campaign for Delhi after they finished with the wooden spoon last year.

They had slipped to 35 for four earlier with the bat without Pietersen in their line-up, stand-in captain Dinesh Karthik going for a first-ball duck when he was caught behind off the bowling of South African all-rounder Albie Morkel.

However, JP Duminy and Ross Taylor at least gave their bowlers something to defend with an unbroken stand of 110 that saw the duo add 63 off the last five overs.

Duminy helped take 17 off the 20th, bowled by Ashok Dinda, as the South African left-hander ended up on 67 not out. His knock included three sixes, with Murali Vijay (18) the only other Daredevil to manage a maximum.

Taylor weighed in with 43 not out but despite being without Chris Gayle at the top of the order, the Royal Challengers coasted home.

New Sky Bet customers: Free matched bet up to £30