• Cricket/
  • Pune Warriors V Mumbai Indians

Pune Warriors vs Mumbai Indians

Match info: Indian Premier League at Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium - League

Date: 11th May 2013 Umpires: A Rauf and A K Chaudhary

20-over match

Home team and score Away team score

Pune Warriors

112/8 (20.0 Overs)


Mumbai Indians

116/5 (18.5 Overs)

Mumbai Indians win by 5 wickets

  • Last Updated: May 11 2013, 20:02 BST

Mumbai Indians climbed into second in the Indian Premier League with a comfortable five-wicket win over rock bottom Pune Warriors.

  • Mitchell Johnson: Took 2-8 as Mumbai beat Pune to climb to second in IPL
  • Yuvraj Singh: Top-scored for Pune but in vain 

Yuvraj Singh top-scored with 33 as the hosts notched just 112 for eight from their 20 overs, with Mumbai reaching their target with seven balls to spare.

But the visitors were 50 for three at the halfway stage, after Dwayne Smith was out off the very first ball and Sachin Tendulkar (15) and Dinesh Karthik (17) failed to post big scores.

Still requiring 63 more runs to win, the decisive partnership of the game came from Ambati Rayudu and Rohit Sharma, who added 54 runs for the fourth wicket.

Sharma top-scored for the visitors with 37, while Rayudu chipped in with 26, before Glenn Maxwell smashed 13 not out and Harbhajan Singh finished on an unbeaten four to see Mumbai home.

Earlier, Pune won the toss and elected to bat, hoping to claim just their third win of the campaign.

But they were restricted by man-of-the-match Mitchell Johnson, who took two for eight off his four overs, and Lasith Malinga and Abu Nechim who waded in with two for 27 each.

The win puts Mumbai two points behind leaders Chennai Super Kings, while Pune remain rock bottom, two points adrift of the Delhi Daredevils.

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet