• Cricket/
  • Mumbai Indians V Pune Warriors

Mumbai Indians vs Pune Warriors

Match info: Indian Premier League at The Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai - League

Date: 13th Apr 2013 Umpires: S Ravi and S J A Taufel

20-over match

Home team and score Away team score

Mumbai Indians

183/3 (20.0 Overs)


Pune Warriors

142/8 (20.0 Overs)

Mumbai Indians win by 41 runs

  • Last Updated: April 13 2013, 18:42 BST

Mumbai Indians maintained their fine run of form in the Indian Premier League as Rohit Sharma's unbeaten half-century helped them to a 41-run victory over the Pune Warriors.

Rohit Sharma: Cracked unbeaten 62 at end of Mumbai innings
Rohit Sharma: Cracked unbeaten 62 at end of Mumbai innings

Sharma cracked 62 not out off just 32 balls as Mumbai posted a daunting 183 for three batting first.

Pune made a disastrous start in reply as Aaron Finch was removed by Australia team-mate Mitchell Johnson first ball and the Warriors were eventually reduced to just 142 for eight.

Sharma finished the Mumbai innings with a flourish after Sachin Tendulkar and Dinesh Karthik had expertly set an early platform following the dismissal of captain Ricky Ponting for 14.

Tendulkar caressed 44 off only 29 balls and Karthik reclaimed the Orange Cap - the symbol for the tournament's leading runscorer - with an equally elegant 41 off the same number of deliveries.

Sharma cleared the rope five times at the end of the innings and the scorecard made dismal reading for Pune pace bowler Ashok Dinda, who returned the joint most expensive IPL figures of 0-63 from four overs.

Australian left-arm quick Johnson then set the tone at the start of the Warriors' reply when he delivered an unplayable inswinger which crashed into Finch's stumps.

Ross Taylor departed the very next over after a mix-up with Robin Uthappa and Pune were in dire straights when Johnson bowled the latter in the third over.

All-rounder Mitchell Marsh blazed 38 off 26 deliveries down the order to add some respectability to the Pune total, however there was simply no stopping Mumbai marching to a third successive win.

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet