• Cricket/
  • Pune Warriors V Sunrisers Hyderabad

Pune Warriors vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Match info: Indian Premier League at Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium - League

Date: 17th Apr 2013 Umpires: A Rauf and A K Chowdhury

20-over match

Home team and score Away team score

Pune Warriors

108 All out (19.0 Overs)


Sunrisers Hyderabad

119/8 (20.0 Overs)

Sunrisers Hyderabad win by 11 runs

  • Last Updated: April 17 2013, 16:50 BST

The Sunrisers Hyderabad pulled off their fourth win in six games on Wednesday, defending a total against Pune Warriors that shouldn't have been sufficient, thanks to a four-wicket over from Amit Mishra, including the second hat-trick of the tournament.

Mishra: Runs and wickets against Pune
Mishra: Runs and wickets against Pune

Mishra bagged his hat-trick in the 19th over as Pune failed to chase the meagre 120 required, collapsing from 101 for four to 108 all out, losing by 11 runs. It was a superb effort from the Sunrisers, who now sit second on the table.

Needless to say, the Hyderabad innings was not ideal, given their 119 for eight score. Only four players reached double figures, with Biplab Samantray top-scoring with 37. Big names like Cameron White, Quinton de Kock and Thisara Perera all failed with the bat.

Mishra was also the rescuing force in the batting, scoring 30 off 24 balls at the death, while Ashish Reddy made 19 and Dale Steyn struck a four off the final ball to push the score up somewhat.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar was the premier bowler for Pune, showing what a bit of hard with Proteas bowling coach Allan Donald can do. He took three wickets in the first five overs to ensure a low total.

It was assumed Pune, who won their previous match, would be able to chase down the target, and they seemed to be on their way quite comfortably. The first five batsmen all reached double figures, and while no-one went on to make anything above 22, it didn't seem to matter.

But then the wickets started to tumble, just like Bangalore did the day before after being in a strong position, and suddenly a run per ball required seemed to steep a climb. Perera got rid of the top order, before Mishra did the rest.

The 19th over saw skipper Angelo Mathews dismissed with the second ball, and then Kumar, Rahul Sharma and Ashok Dinda all followed with the fourth, fifth and sixth deliveries, much to the overwhelming joy of the Deccan side.

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet