Sri Lanka vs New Zealand

Match info: Sri Lanka v New Zealand ODI Series 2012 at Mahinda Rajapaksha International Cricket Stadium - 4th ODI

Date: 10th Nov 2012 Umpires: I J Gould and R S A Palliyaguruge

32-over match

Home team and score Away team score

Sri Lanka

131/3 (26.2 Overs)


New Zealand

131/8 (32.0 Overs)

Sri Lanka win by 7 wickets (D/L)

  • Last Updated: November 10 2012, 18:58 GMT

An unbeaten 42 from Kumar Sangakkara steered Sri Lanka to a seven-wicket win over New Zealand and sealed victory in the rain-hit one-day international series.

Kumar Sangakkara cracks the ball away
Kumar Sangakkara cracks the ball away

Sri Lanka had been set a Duckworth-Lewis target of 131 from 32 overs in the fourth ODI and reached that with 34 balls remaining.

That was in reply to New Zealand's 131 for eight from 32 overs after rain had forced the match to be shortened by 18 overs per side.

Dinesh Chandimal fell seven runs short of his half-century as Sri Lanka took a 3-0 series lead at Hambantota with one match to play.

After the first match was washed out, the hosts took the next two under the Duckworth-Lewis method and the calculators were out again here.

Chandimal had scored 43 when he was bowled by Trent Boult having put on 87 for the second wicket with Sangakkara following the early loss of Upul Tharanga (27) with 36 on the board.

Chandimal fell with the total on 123, just nine short of victory.

Sangakkara then steered the home side to victory but not before Lahiru Thirimanne had been dismissed for a duck with the home side still four runs shy of their target.

Sangakkara's 42 included five fours and a six and came off just 55 balls.

The start of game four had been delayed by more rain at Hambantota.

Further showers during the New Zealand innings meant it was reduced to 32 overs and the tourists could do little during their time in the middle.

The economical Jeevan Mendis ripped the heart out of the New Zealand middle order to help reduce them to a poor total.

Only 29.2 overs had been bowled by the time another deluge forced the players off the field.

Mendis had claimed three wickets by then and went on to record figures of three for 15 from four overs.

Openers Rob Nicol and BJ Watling were parted with the total on 16 when Nuwan Kulasekara had Nicol caught by Tharanga for 11.

By the time Watling was out for 15 the total had reached 45 when he was run out by Kulasekara.

New Zealand had reached 62 when Ross Taylor (6) was caught behind by Sangakkara off the bowling of Thisara Perera.

Top scorer Brendon McCullum hit 30, including two fours and a six, before his became the fourth wicket to fall with the total on 73 when Chandimal took the catch off Rangana Herath.

New Zealand had struggled to 105 when Kane Williamson (21) became the first of Mendis' victims when he was bowled.

The same bowler made it two in two when Nathan McCullum was dismissed without scoring from a ball which hit his off stump.

But his hat-trick ball did not beat Andrew Ellis, who was able to defend the delivery.

Angelo Mathews bowled the next over without success but New Zealand had only reached 107 when Ellis attempted to sweep Mendis and was trapped lbw.

But with the drizzle having got heavier the umpires ordered the players off.

Upon their return, James Franklin's was the final wicket to fall with the total on 116, but an unbroken stand of 15 between Tim Southee and Adam Milne helped them reach 131 for eight by the end of the 32 overs.

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet & £5 free every week