• Cricket/
  • South Africa V New Zealand

South Africa vs New Zealand

Match info: South Africa v New Zealand ODI Series 2013 at Boland Bank Park, Paarl - 1st ODI

Date: 19th Jan 2013 Umpires: E Haque and S George

50-over match

Home team and score Away team score

South Africa

208 All out (46.2 Overs)


New Zealand

209/9 (45.4 Overs)

New Zealand win by 1 wickets

  • Last Updated: January 19 2013, 16:36 GMT

James Franklin was New Zealand's hero as the tourists beat South Africa by one wicket in a dramatic opening one-day international in Paarl.

James Franklin helped New Zealand claim victory
James Franklin helped New Zealand claim victory

Franklin hit the winning runs with a four amid a flurry of late-order boundaries as New Zealand reached 209 for nine in reply to the home side's 208.

South Africa had set a disappointing total from 46.2 overs as Faf du Plessis scored 57 as debutant New Zealand paceman Mitchell McClenaghan took four for 20.

Ryan McLaren took four for 46 for the home side but Franklin, who finished on 47 not out, and BJ Watling (45) ensured New Zealand recorded a narrow victory.

McClenaghan and his fellow bowlers were were on the money from almost the first ball and should have taken a first-over wicket, with Graeme Smith lucky to see his top edge off Kyle Mills put down by Rob Nicol at first slip.

Hashim Amla went in the fifth over, misjudging the line as he went to drive Mills but got rapped on his back pad and departed for 13 after an appeal.

Smith was soon on his way as well, McClenaghan's first one-day wicket being one to savour as he pinned the former Proteas captain bang in front.

McClenaghan then took care of AB de Villiers, again finding the pads, with the batsman unhappy as replays showed the ball had pitched outside the line.

Colin Ingram got to 29 as the wickets continued to fall and looked well set but he was soon heading back to the pavilion too, Nathan McCullum producing a thrilling catch as he ran backwards to take the batsman's top-edge sweep from Kane Williamson.

McClenaghan drew Quinton de Kock forward but the edge was shelled by Martin Guptill, but Franklin soon put things right as he lured De Kock into another rash shot, with Nathan McCullum displaying excellent hands as he dived in from mid-off.

McLaren was caught behind off Williamson for 33.

That brought Robin Peterson to the crease but he only lasted four balls for a duck - McClenaghan again on the spot for an lbw - while the same man did for Dale Steyn's middle stump.

In between times Du Plessis was removed, Williamson the architect as he cramped the batsman up and lured him into chipping an easy catch to Nicol.

Rory Kleinveldt then spiced things up for the home side, clubbing Mills for three sixes in four balls in a rapid 26 as South Africa reached 208.

New Zealand lost Guptill when he was run out by De Villiers off the second ball with the scoreboard still on zero.

Two balls later Smith dropped BJ Watling at second slip off Steyn.

Four balls into the second over Nicol went for four when Lonwabo Tsotsobe found a thick edge and Smith claimed a low catch to leave the visitors four for two.

Tsotsobe grabbed his second wicket when Williamson cut a short ball outside off stump to Du Plessis at cover point to leave the tourists on 21 for three.

Watling and McCullum had put on a half-century partnership for the fourth wicket when the latter fell for 26, trapped lbw by Kleinveldt.

New Zealand were on 81 when Kleinveldt claimed his second wicket, Smith taking the catch to dismiss Grant Elliott for one.

Watling had made 45, including five fours, when he was bowled by McLaren to leave the visitors in trouble on 105 for six.

Jimmy Neesham went two balls later, trapped lbw by McLaren, without addition to the score.

Nathan McCullum and Franklin put on a defiant 35 for the eighth wicket before McCullum fell for 24 when he also fell lbw to McLaren.

But Franklin and Kyle Mills put on 47 to take New Zealand within touching distance of a win when McLaren bowled Mills for 26.

Franklin claimed 11 runs off Steyn's final over before McClenaghan survived the final ball to leave New Zealand needing 10 to win off five overs.

Franklin then hit two more boundaries to finish unbeaten on 47 as New Zealand took the win by one wicket.

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet & £5 free every week