• Cricket/
  • South Africa V New Zealand

South Africa vs New Zealand

Match info: South Africa v New Zealand ODI Series 2013 at Senwes Park - 3rd ODI

Date: 25th Jan 2013 Umpires: E Haque and A T Holdstock

50-over match

Home team and score Away team score

South Africa

264/9 (50.0 Overs)


New Zealand

260/9 (50.0 Overs)

South Africa win by 1 wicket

  • Last Updated: January 25 2013, 21:13 GMT

Ryan McLaren smashed a six off the final ball of the match as South Africa avoided a one-day international series whitewash at the hands of New Zealand with a dramatic one-wicket victory at Potchefstroom.

Lonwabo Tsotsobe: Picked up four wickets
Lonwabo Tsotsobe: Picked up four wickets

South Africa looked to have wasted Graeme Smith's brilliant 116 at the top of the innings when, in pursuit of 261 for victory, they slumped from 229 for five to 258 for nine to be left needing three off the final ball to take the win.

However, McLaren smashed James Franklin for a maximum off the last delivery as the Proteas squeezed home in remarkable fashion to end a disappointing ODI series on a winning note.

McLaren's 25 not out proved crucial as wickets tumbled around him and followed an impressive bowling spell by the all-rounder as he claimed four for 52 in New Zealand's 260 for nine.

It was Smith who provided the backbone of South Africa's successful run chase, though.

The Test captain struck 14 fours in scoring 116 and looked to have steered the hosts into a winning position, only to undo some of his good work as he tried to launch Kane Williamson down the ground and succeeded only in finding BJ Watling at long-on.

Smith's dismissal in the 46th over sparked a New Zealand fightback that almost won them the match, with South Africa tailenders Rory Kleinveldt (six), Aaron Phangiso (nine) and Dale Steyn (four) unable to hang around and give McLaren the support he needed.

Fortunately for the Proteas though, when Steyn was caught at cow corner off the penultimate ball of the match, the batsmen were able to cross and McLaren finished the job in perfect fashion to send the home fans wild.

It also avoided an embarrassing ODI whitewash for the South Africans, who had thrashed New Zealand in both Test matches and also won the Twenty20 series.

New Zealand, buoyant after pocketing their first ODI series win in South Africa on Tuesday, had earlier built what looked a defendable total thanks to half-centuries from Grant Elliott (54), Colin Munro (57) and James Franklin (53 not out).

McLaren impressed with four wickets, as did Lonwabo Tsotsobe who finished with four for 45 off his 10 overs.

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet & £5 free every week