South Africa vs Pakistan

Match info: South Africa v Pakistan ODI Series 2013 at Willowmoore Park, Benoni - 5th ODI

Date: 24th Mar 2013 Umpires: B F Bowden and J D Cloete

50-over match

Home team and score Away team score

South Africa

208/4 (44.0 Overs)



205 All out (49.1 Overs)

South Africa win by 6 wickets

  • Last Updated: March 24 2013, 16:22 GMT

Captain AB De Villiers was again South Africa's match-winner as his unbeaten 95 led the home side to victory in Benoni and a 3-2 series triumph over Pakistan.

AB De Villiers: Guided South Africa to victory
AB De Villiers: Guided South Africa to victory

With two half-centuries and a ton already to his name in the series, De Villiers took full advantage of being dropped on nought by Younis Khan.

Pakistan could only make 205 all out after winning the toss and electing to bat in Benoni, before the hosts, led by De Villiers reached their target with 36 balls and six wickets to spare.

Kamran Akmal, who made 48 from 51 balls, was the only batsman to pass 30 in Pakistan's innings, which saw Ryan McLaren claim three middle-order wickets.

South Africa then knocked off the runs with comfort once De Villiers began setting about the Pakistan attack, making his runs off 111 balls.

Pakistan elected to bat but could not reach a par score.

Dale Steyn was the first South Africa bowler to strike as he had Mohammad Hafeez caught in the slips for five, and the tourists were reduced to 31 for two when Imran Farhat edged a Lonwabo Tsotsobe delivery through to AB De Villiers.

Akmal and Younis Khan (29) shared a 66-run stand to take Pakistan out of early trouble before Robin Peterson ended the former's entertaining knock, which featured six fours and a six.

Akmal top-edged a catch to McLaren at backward square leg. Farhaan Behardien then did for Younis before McLaren's bowling came to the fore.

He sent Shoaib Malik (28) and dangerman Shahid Afridi packing in the same over, the latter lasting just three balls as he went for a duck, caught by Colin Ingram at deep square leg.

McLaren had wicket number three when he tempted Misbah-ul-Haq (24) into an outside edge which was pouched by De Villiers.

McLaren also ran out Wahab Riaz for 12 as the batsman attempted a quick single, between Morne Morkel removing Saeed Ajmal (one) and Junaid Khan for a useful 25 to polish off the tail.

After a slow start that saw only three runs yielded from the first three overs, Hashim Amla kick-started the South African reply with a cut through the covers for four.

Opening partner Quinton de Kock was lucky to survive a run out chance but perished after 12 balls when he was bowled by Junaid Khan for three.

South Africa continued to struggle to find the boundary and with their score on 34 in the 11th over they were two down, with Ingram cutting the ball into his stumps off Hafeez for 15.

Two wickets could have been three four balls later when dangerman and captain De Villiers edged to Khan at slip, off Junaid Khan, however the experienced batsman could not hold on.

Amla and De Villiers looked to rebuild the innings but the former departed in the 23rd over, mistiming a hook shot off Mohammad Irfan which looped to Malik for 22 to leave South Africa 89 for three.

De Villiers launched Afridi for six in the next over before he went past 50 two overs later.

Behardien proved to be a handy partner but went after making 35 from 36 when he was caught at fine leg by Ajmal.

With just 36 from 74 balls needed, De Villiers and new batsman Paul Miller, who finished 20 not out, upped the rate and took the South Africa to their target with six overs to spare.

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet & £5 free every week