• Cricket/
  • Kings Xi Punjab V Delhi Daredevils

Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Daredevils

Match info: Indian Premier League at Dharmasala - League

Date: 19th May 2012 Umpires: B F Bowden and V A Kulkarni

20-over match

Home team and score Away team score

Kings XI Punjab

141/8 (20.0 Overs)


Delhi Daredevils

145/4 (18.2 Overs)

Delhi Daredevils won by 6 wickets.

  • Last Updated: May 19 2012, 15:46 BST

Kings XI Punjab missed out on the Indian Premier League play-offs as a dominant display with bat and ball earned the Delhi Daredevils a comprehensive win.

David Warner: Clubbed 79 off 44 balls
David Warner: Clubbed 79 off 44 balls

New-ball pair Morne Morkel and Umesh Yadav combined for seven wickets as Kings XI, needing to win to prolong their season, were restricted to 141 for eight.

And David Warner then smashed 79 from 44 balls as the already-qualified Daredevils eased to a six-wicket success with almost two overs to spare.

Yadav took three for 19 as the home team crashed to 20 for four. Siddharth Chitnis (38), Azhar Mahmood (36) and Gurkeerat Singh, with 26 from 11 balls, fought back but Morkel removed the latter two and finished with four for 20.

Andre Russell, though, returned shocking figures of one for 51 after Mahmood and Singh took five boundaries from his last over.

Warner and Unmukt Chand put on 82 to kick-start Delhi's reply before the latter fell for 18.

The Australian hit his first ball for six and hit three more maximums in one Parvinder Awana over, despite one of the intervening deliveries breaking his bat, as he took just 25 balls to bring up his half-century.

By the time he was dismissed, having hit 10 fours in addition to those four sixes, only 33 runs were needed and Venugopal Rao (21no) saw them to 145 for four.